MMA Legislative Day 2024

In appreciation for outstanding leadership on behalf of Michigan manufacturers, MMA recognized two policymakers as Legislators of the Year at MMA Legislative Day in May 2024. Pictured, left to right, MMA’s Dave Worthams, MMA’s John Walsh, State Representative Amos O’Neal, State Senator John Damoose, MMA’s Caroline Liethen and MMA’s Mike Johnston.

MMA’s annual Capitol event provides a “hands-on” lobbying experience, connecting members and manufacturing supporters with key policymakers while learning about MMA’s efforts to develop a pro-manufacturing economy during.

The full-day experience is a time to champion our ever-evolving industry and advocate for a prosperous future. Michigan’s manufacturers are vital employers, creators and innovators propelling us forward. Together, we shape policy, forge connections and amplify our collective voice to ensure Michigan remains a hub of progress. MA’s annual event fosters continued collaboration and creates opportunities to advocate for a promising future — fueling the momentum of our industry’s boundless potential.

The 2024 MMA Legislative Day was an action-packed day full of insights, networking and meaningful dialogue as MMA’s Government Affairs team and industry leaders across the state worked to amplify the voice of manufacturers through engaging conversations directly with legislators. Together, we’re shaping policies that drive growth and prosperity for our industry. Thank you to everyone who participated and contributed to this impactful event.

2024 Program Highlights

Speaker Joe TateSpeaker of the House Joe Tate

Speaker Joe Tate is serving his third term, representing the 10th House District, a diverse community that covers Detroit’s northeast side and the communities of the Village of Grosse Pointe Shores, Grosse Pointe Woods, Grosse Pointe Farms, Grosse Pointe city, Grosse Pointe Park and part of Harper Woods. After an honorable discharge from the Marine Corps, he earned both an MBA and a master’s in environmental policy and planning from the University of Michigan. Before joining the Legislature, Tate helped small businesses grow their capacity as a program manager for the Detroit Economic Growth Corp.

Senate Majority Leader Winnie BrinksSenate Majority Leader Winnie Brinks

Senator Winnie Brinks (D-Grand Rapids) is the Senate Majority Leader. She is proud to have earned the historic distinctions as the first woman to ever hold this position in the Michigan Senate, as well as being the first woman to represent Grand Rapids in the Michigan Senate since 1920. Before being elected to the state House, where she served three terms, Brinks was a caseworker at The Source, helping businesses and nonprofits improve workplaces and retain employees. She also worked as the director of a community-based corrections agency and as a school paraprofessional.

Senator Aric NesbittSenate Republican Leader Aric Nesbitt

Senator Aric Nesbitt (R-Porter Twp.) grew up on a six-generation family farm in West Michigan. He went on to earn an economics degree from Hillsdale College, later earning a master’s in international business. He served three terms in the Michigan House of Representatives before being elected to the Michigan Senate. He represents the 20th Senate District, which includes portions of Berrien, Van Buren, Allegan and Kent counties and currently serves as Senate Republican Leader.

House Republication Whip Mike HarrisHouse Republican Whip Mike Harris

Representative Mike Harris was first elected to the Michigan House of Representatives in May 2022. He represents the 52nd District, which encompasses part of Oakland County: the cities of Lake Angelus and Clarkston, Independence Township, and portions of Springfield and Waterford townships. Representative Harris serves as the Republican vice chair on the House Insurance and Financial Service Committee. He also serves as a member on the Ethics and Oversight Committee and Criminal Justice Committee. Before taking office, Harris served in law enforcement for 26 years, including 25 years with the Waterford Township Police Department.

Director Julia DaleJulia Dale, Director, Unemployment Insurance Agency

Julia Dale has more than 20 years of service to the residents of the state of Michigan in leadership and management roles throughout government. Her extensive career, education and training give her the tools to focus on helping all Michiganders and provide exceptional customer service to residents and businesses. Dale previously served as director at the Department of Technology, Management and Budget. She holds a law degree and previously worked as an Assistant Attorney General and Section Head of the Department of Attorney General's Business and Charities Section.

Tanya BlehmTanya Blehm, Manager, Great Lakes Bay Manufacturers Association

Tanya Blehm, a proud Michigander and Northwood University alumna, brings 35 years of diverse expertise to the table. With a strong foundation in customer service, she has honed her skills in building lasting relationships. Tanya’s commitment extends to the non-profit sector, where she has championed various causes with passion and dedication. In the realm of exporting, Tanya navigated complex global markets with finesse, while her tenure in the furniture industry showcases her eye for design and quality. A seasoned professional, Tanya Blehm embodies excellence in every endeavor she undertakes.

2024 Sponsors

MetLife Blue Cross Blue Shield Caterpillar Heritage-Crystal Clean Kellanova Consumers Energy Highland Copper Company

2024 Sponsorship

Support manufacturing growth and innovation with sponsorship and engagement opportunities available throughout the year. Develop a comprehensive plan to build your brand, solidify your image and increase your engagement with Michigan manufacturers. Work with MMA’s team to build a package with multiple event sponsorship, thought leadership and advertising opportunities available. Contact MMA’s Ashley Wakefield to build your brand strategy.

Contact for Sponsorship

Ashley Wakefield

Ashley Wakefield
Director of Membership, Marketing & Events
Call 517-487-8523

Contact for Registration

Elizabeth Maciejewski

Elizabeth Maciejewski
Membership & Events Coordinator
Call 517-487-8542